ZSC, Inc.
5209 8th Street
Zephyrhills, Florida 33542
Members...If you know of someone who is under the weather, please send me the details and I would be happy to publish them.
A liitle note from our fellow ZSC members just might help cheer them up and on the road to recovery...Chuck
We all like to play Shuffleboard but some go over and above to be sure we have a voice in the Central District governing body.  ZSC is proud to have four Officers on the Central District Board. 
Jim Chandler is 1st Vice President and is responsible for the popular Hall of Fame Classic held at Winter Haven in March. Jim  also serves as a ZSC Director.
John Houghtaling is 3rd Vice President and is responsible for the Reiny-Masters; he’ll need help from many of us as he sets up the Masters  to be played at our Club in March.
Gerrit Dykman is 4th Vice President and is responsible to represent our amateur base and to build that base.
Mike Seyfer is the Treasurer and we all know how detail oriented Mike is, so our money is well taken care of.
When you see these guys, you might want to thank them for all the extra time they give for all of us.  Remember, they too want to play.
Four ZSC members inducted
The Winter Haven Shuffleboard Club hosted the annual 2018 Hall of Fame Classic Tournament.

The event was very well attended by Central District shufflers.

$695.00 in gift certificates were donated and given out during play of the Mingles/Singles 6 game tournament format.

After four games, play was halted for the induction of our 7 newest inductees.

Doug and Pat Stockman from Sanlan are the first husband and wife to be inducted into the Hall of Fame Player Category. Each presented the other.

Bob Perkins was presented by David Earle in the Special Awards Category for all he has done for shuffleboard and the Zephyrhills Shuffleboard Club.

Three of the top lady shuffleboard players in Florida were inducted in the player category. Linda Marshman presented Glenna Earle, and then Glenna presented Linda. Henry Strong presented Glenda Brake, all are from the Zephyrhills Shuffleboard Club.

Sebring's Bob Hoskins, another great shuffler, was presented by good friend Larry Brown in the Player Category.

Tournament play resumed following the ceremony.

An abundance and large assortment of finger food was available for players to munch on throughout the tournament.

Delane Ruess won the  M/S Pro division and  Larry Harvey the Amateur division.

Many thanks to co-chairmen Jim & Ginny Chandler. Director Marlene Corbeil was assisted by George Adyns, Jim Corbeil and David Earle.

A great time was had by all and congratulations to all the inductees!!!
2018 Indutees
ZSC Hall of Fame members
Chuck & Mary were on a cruise when Chuck experienced flu symptoms. Saturday, he was taken to a Miami hospital where he is currently in ICU. According to Mary, the flu shut his lungs down. Today, Tuesday Apr. 17, Mary said, Chuck can't walk and can only stand for a few seconds at a time. There is a possibility he may have to stay there for three weeks. She will keep us updated on his progress.
You may text well wishes  to: 810-919-5455. No address at this time.
It has been determinmed that when Chuck was pulled from the ICU that he was getting the wrong meds and regressing. Pulmonary got involved and there has been immediate improvement overnight, he can at least hold the phone but can't carry on a conversation. They say he should start to improve now but it will be slow getting his strength back.
We both thank all of you for your prayers. He needed all of them.

For those of you that enjoy cruising like we do...CONSIDER REAL MEDICAL IS NOT AVAILABLE ON A SHIP.
Forunately we were just hours from Miami when the flu struck......Mary
Chuck is still in Miami hospital and will be moving to rehab. He recently walked 4 times for a total of 48 feet. He now has a private room and Mary is able stay there with him. Doctors seem happy with his progress even though Chuck isn't.  It appears it will be another two weeks before he can be released.
Chuck is in theapy and things are getting a little better.  He may be ablew to leave this weekend. He will spend a week in Zephyrhills and then on to Michigan. Thanks to all of you that have contacted us, Take care.....Mary
I received some very sad news today that I need to pass on to our Shuffleboard family. Jim Miller passed away today at his home in Indiana. He was an excellent shuffler and a perfect gentleman. He & his wife Jo spent their winters in the Sarasota, Florida area. They were very active within the Bradenton Shuffle Club--like the cornerstone. He played in many Battle Creek. Michigan Tournaments. His wife Jo has been a director for many years in Southwest Dist of Florida along with our Ann Wadel. What a hole this makes in the shuffleboard family. Please keep Jo and the family in your thoughts & prayers. I have an address if you would like to send a card. 17025 County Rd., Goshen, IN 46528
Reported by Nancy Ruess
Chuck reports that his progress has been moving along slowly and Mary is now in the hospital also. Mary was staying in the room with Chuck when she developed some issues that may be kidney stones but doctors are not sure at this point. When it rains it pours.

Thank you to all of you that called or emailed to be sure I knew.
It’s true Jim passed away this afternoon of an apparent Heart attack. I talked to his wife Jo and she told me he had taken his parachute plane out, not to fly but to practice driving it. He lost control and the corner believes he had a heart attack and didn’t suffer. Jo says the loss hasn’t really set in yet but I’m sure she is devastated as is the Shuffle World. Jim was a tremendous competitor and as nice a person as you will ever meet and yes, I agree, only his wife Jo is as nice a person. Jo, we are all with you and we couldn’t be sorrier for your loss and Shuffleboards loss.....Earl Ball